Home > Uncle Biek > Old lights

Old lights

This morning on my way to work I found myself (for the fourth time this week, but for the first time without an accompanying accident further up the road) in a traffic jam and my IFO was positioned behind a nicely grey coated Audi A6 Quattro.

It’s at times like this where all those patient numbers on maximum horsepower and torque levels don’t count, we’re all one big (almost) happy family. :-)

Now I’m not really the biggest Audi fan around. In fact if I would make a top ten list of my favorite car manufacturers they would probably not even make it to my personal top five.

That, of course, doesn’t mean that they make ugly cars, quite contrarily, but it’s just not my thing. US cars in general, and specially Cadillac and Ford definitely are my thing. But that doesn’t matter now, what I’m trying to tell you here is not Audi’s fault or anything.

Anyway. While we were rolling along, at a lot less miles an hour than was desirable at that time and place, I realized that the Audi’s LED taillights were not quite as pleasing to watch as the classic light bulb powered ones are, like the rest of us ‘still’ have, specially when the brake lights come on.

The time those LEDS need to go from ‘off’ to ‘on’ is by far a lot shorter than the bulb’s time and somehow they come across more aggressively. I realize that it could very well be a matter of just a couple of hundreds of a second but still, I like the bulb ones much, much better.

Next to the millisecond they take to activate they are also a lot brighter than the older lights. This, of course, is in fact much safer so, though it’s rather bright when you’re driving behind one in clear dark weather, I can see the point in that and won’t ramble on about it.

After taking my exit I had left the highway behind me a long time already, when I suddenly realized just how much more I like the older lights.

I spotted a beautiful 1965 Ford Thunderbird, which taillights cover just about the entire rear of the car. Each unit is made up of 4 separate lights and when they activate the turn indicator the lights toggle from inside out, kind of like they are turning up a giant car sized volume bar.

It’s a simply brilliant sight. Whoever came up with that idea struck gold, right there, and it’s a shame we don’t see things like these anymore nowadays. It would sure brighten up the way traffic looks, not to mention the traffic jams.

Categories: Uncle Biek
  1. Feb 24, 2007 at 20:04

    audi are amazing cars i just wish i had the money to buy one. sniff sniff
    maybe one day but untill then i will have to just make do with the pics

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

