Home > Uncle Biek > Second life

Second life

Remember me saying this the other day:

“… fire up my trusty Senseo® coffee machine which, by the way, will need to be replaced soon after many, many years of loyal service”

Well, today I found out that it may not be as bad as it looked. Better yet, my coffee machine seems to be its old self again and now only leaks just a few drops instead of say, oh, half a cup … :-) And the magic substance that fixed it all is called ‘water’. Yes, I know, that sounds very familiar and you may indeed have heard of it before.

What I did was take the thing apart as far as possible without tools (not including brute force) and let it soak in water with soap for roughly a day and a half while getting my kicks from a few cups of tea instead.

This evening I reassembled it again in a way that would have made Johnny Five proud and, voila, uncle Biek can enjoy a good cup of coffee again. My coffee machine’s second life also saves me the trouble of looking through the entire line of Senseo® coffee machines they have now and choosing a worthy successor for it.

Have a nice evening, I know I will!

Categories: Uncle Biek
  1. FroggyRob
    Apr 10, 2009 at 21:13

    Maybe next time soak it in water with a lot of vinegar in it. This disolves the calcium which has been build up in the past years (or knowing you: the past few weeks :-)

  2. Apr 10, 2009 at 21:18

    Good thinking. I probably ought to soak the inside of me with that mixture as well, you know, clean myself up a bit too. I might just last longer than my coffee machine that way …

  3. May 4, 2009 at 18:10

    on the other hand. When your machine gives up you can repair it by replacing parts. I don’t think you can find Biek Parts anywhere…

  4. May 4, 2009 at 18:18

    True, true. Well, not very cheap parts anyway. Most of them are relics by now and often sought after. ;-)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

