Home > Family, Uncle Biek > U2 360 Tour 2009

U2 360 Tour 2009

Well ‘whoo-da-hoo’, I did it! I got invited by my brother in law, thought about it for a little while and gave in after he pushed a little more, joining him and my sister to see U2’s 360 Tour 2009, live in Amsterdam’s ArenA.

The show was absolutely amazing, their 360 degrees stage was like nothing I’ve ever seen in my life, Snowpatrol was a great act to get everyone warmed up and actually the only thing I have to complain about at all was the sound. Or rather: the volume. Or the noise actually, which was all my ears could produce by the end of the concert.

And the reason why I’m complaining about it is because even now, hours after the concert, I still can’t hear too well. My ears are still having huge trouble with medium and high frequency sounds and everything louder than, say, a car sounds distorted like crazy. I really hope my hearing will be back to normal tomorrow morning because if it stays this way I’m seriously in trouble. Oh, and my head hurts like it’s three to four sizes too small, but I already felt that coming while we were waiting to go in so that’s no surprise.

What’s up with that insane volume anyway? I mean I can understand that it’s pretty cool to play your songs loud, especially when performing live, but does it really have to be this freaking loud? The last four or five songs of the concert I was already having so much trouble hearing, I was on the brink of walking out because it really hurt and felt like something had really gone bad inside.

We’ve all turned up the volume at home every once and a while, whether it was with a action movie in our home theater or a great piece of music, but this was just way too much of a good thing. A great thing even. On the way back to the car I heard someone else in front of us complaining about the incredibly loud volume as well only to be replied to that he probably ‘just had to get used to it’. Yeah, like smoking and drinking I thought …

Don’t get me wrong though, I had a good time. U2 was great, the t-shirt as well, it was really, really, nice hanging out with my sis and bro again, I’ve seen a few of their friends again which I hadn’t seen in a long while and that was cool too, but I don’t think I’ll ever visit something like this again. It’s just not for me.

Categories: Family, Uncle Biek Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

