Home > Uncle Biek > Not too bad

Not too bad

Today I was mostly at Houten where the expo will be held from tomorrow on until Saturday. My primary task was to hook up all PC’s and fine tune them for the expo tomorrow.

Last year getting everything to work was a disaster. While the first customers were already on our stand, I was still running around getting every screen to work and display its presentation properly. A nightmare.

So, having learned from that experience, it was decided that I was to go there in the morning prior to the opening day so we had a little more time preparing the lot to work.

And that strategy worked much, much better. When I first got there I wasn’t all that happy because there wasn’t a cable in sight and the place where I was to set up the PC’s was almost impossible to get into, especially with my back still acting up from last week. But while I was unpacking the rest, cables appeared out of nowhere and before I knew it a few guys had already laid them throughout the stand, leaving me to hook up the PC’s and setting up the screen. Nice work!

In the evening the rest of the company joined us over there to help finishing up the stand, giving it the final touch. Most of them were helping out, apart from a few individuals who had clearly decided that they were much better in looking on and pointing out what needed to be done. Sad figures. I guess it’s at moment like these when someone’s true nature comes ‘shining’ through.

Anyway, when all was done we then each got a preparation on who was to do what during the expo. I was pretty glad we didn’t have that guru we had last year and that the overall spirit of the expo was a lot more relaxed than last year.

When all that was settled we all went for a nice meal after which I hitched a ride home with the other Volvo driving colleague and didn’t stop walking until I felt my bed beneath me. Completely busted and the expo hasn’t even began properly …

Let’s hope the next two days are kind to me …

Categories: Uncle Biek
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

